Thursday, February 25, 2010

Nada Surf Cover Spoon, Twilley, The Go-Betweens, et. al.

Nada Surf - Electrocution (Bill Fox cover) mp3

from band's forthcoming (8 June) release

if i had a hi-fi

on their Mardev Records label

The all-covers LP will feature Nada Surf versions of songs by Spoon ("The Agony of Laffitte"!), The Go-Betweens, Dwight Twilley, Moody Blues, and Depeche Mode, among others. "Electrocution" is originally by Bill Fox of Cleveland cult band The Mice, inspiration to such local bands as Guided by Voices and Death of Samantha.

Thanks to Chris Vinyard at Big Hassle for the headsup.

MySpace | Bandsite | Big Hassle Nada Surf Page

Photo Credit: Peter Ellenby

Hangin' with Golden Triangle

Golden Triangle - Neon Noose mp3

from Double Jointer

due out 2 March on Hardly Art

Surf's up, but we're content to swing on shore to the driving golden glow these Brooklynites shed . . . kind of thing.

MySpace | Amazon mp3 | eMusic

Monday, February 22, 2010

The New Pornographers Bring Us Together May 4

We're on their mailing list, so for months now we've been receiving tantalizing headsups from The New Pornographers about the forthcoming Together LP, slated for May 4 release on Matador Records. Today the gratification got slightly less delayed and very much more tangible, as they sent us (and no doubt thousands/millions of others) the mp3 to the above song, which we hope you will agree whets the appetite even further. You can get track listings and learn more about the LP at Matador, while also visiting their MySpace and band sites, as well as stocking up on whatever you still haven't purchased.

Let's face it, TNP are one of our very favorite bands, and we've been sharing all they'll let us since the early days of Powerpopulist. Below are some of the songs we've posted by the group, as well as by leader A.C. Newman. Click to enjoy, if you haven't already.

Sunday, February 21, 2010

Music of the Sphere: Sloan, Posies, Ringo D., Summer Suns, Wall of V, Original Sinners, Art Museums, White Fence, Police, Steely Dan

Things are kinda quiet in the sphere right now. I'd hoped to have more for you, but a couple of these might be taken down soon, so I feel the need to post. Besides, there's a nice 1-3-2-3-1 symmetry below that means so much to pp and the gang. BTW, that incredible Posies song was the first I ever posted on this blog, albeit as a video. Sigh. Thanks to all the gracious hosts. (Click below to visit.)

The Summer Suns - Thank You Holly - Peter's Power Pop

Sloan - Iggy & Angus - Star Maker Machine
The Police - So Lonely - Star Maker Machine
Steely Dan - Bodhisattva - Star Maker Machine

The Posies - Dream All Day - Barely Awake in Frog Pajamas
Wall Of Voodoo - Mexican Radio - Barely Awake in Frog Pajamas

Original Sinners - You'll Never Know (What Love is All About) - Raven Sings the Blues
Art Museums - Sculpture Gardens - Raven Sings the Blues
White Fence - Destroy Everything - Raven Sings the Blues

Ringo Deathstarr - Rats Live On No Evil Star & Some Kind of Sad - Covert Curiosity

Bettie Seervert Have the Right Rx

Bettie Seervert - Deny All mp3

from Pharmacy of Love

due out 23 March on Second Motion Records

Amsterdammers make their first release in four years well worth the wait.

Butterfly Explosion's Groovy Gaze

Butterfly Explosion - Chemistry mp3

from Dubliners' Lost Trails due out on iTunes 1 March

Gear, groovy gaze.

MySpace | Bandsite

Thursday, February 18, 2010

pppurcha$e$ Updates

If you like some of the same music "we" do, you might want to check out some of our recent and not-so-recent purchases at eMusic. Even if you're not a member, you'll still get some ideas about artists you could check out elsewhere. We've found eMusic to be a fabulous source of excellent music at very low prices and get no kickbacks, if one or two kicks (the good kind), for telling you so. You can find the above-referenced purchases at our barebones site called pppurcha$e$. The updates are here, here, here, and here.

Saturday, February 06, 2010

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...